Wednesday, July 28, 2010

Thoughts on Mega Man 9

Well, since I finally got off my ass and took the time to connect my PS3 to the router, I downloaded this gem along with Final Fantasy VII (Since my copy is STILL with an old friend). Anyways, I assume some would like to hear my thoughts on this game because I am the Mega Man fanboi and an pro at almost all the series with exception of BN and SF because I couldn't honestly give a crap about those games. Before you guys jump on me for this, I am not saying they are bad games just I don't find them in the same plateau of quality of the other series.

Mega Man 9 when it came out was almost like revolution as all of suddenly we started getting just a ton of retro titles one after. However, 9 stands out for being the first and a return to the roots of classic NES gaming and it does very well in this in nearly every regard.

The stage designs while seeming alittle rehashed from previous Original Series held true to that Robot Master. The level gimmicks were unique and inventive though I think some could have used work like the tongue platforms in Hornet Man's stage because it tends to go back to quickly before you are able to jump across causing a cheap annoying death. Note the first time playing the game, these will happen alot but eventually like an other Mega Man, memorization sets in and these should rarely happen afterwards. Now one of my complaints goes to the Wily Stages is the fact they introduced new gimmicks which is rarely done in any Mega Man games for often the sake of the players and programming probably. These gimmicks caused a few fits of rage like the upward gravity room where you use the buster to move across the room but to make things better, they put those fucking grabbers in there from Galaxy Man's stage. Yeah, nice one Capcom. Is it just me or the spikes off in hit detection? This is noticeable in Jewel Man and Wily Stage 3 to me anyways.

Now the music was just perfect, I doubt I have seen a Mega Man game with music this fitting or well matched. Though before I played Tornado Man used to be my fav but due to the high whistling bit in the song, I had to switch to Magma and Plug Man and Concreate Man for favs, but Wily Stage 1 stole my soul with it's everything though Stage 2 is extremely catchy I admit. Overall, the music is a must download if you like classic music styles from the years of old.

I liked the references to alot of Capcom's other stuff like Street Fighter and other MM series like Mega Man Zero (my favorite series) and the story was alittle bit better than typical MM fare and the ending I thought was true to the character and paid alot of respect to it's older siblings. Overall, this game was actually difficult, it's almost up there with Mega Man 1 despite some wrong reasons and right reasons which is nice considering really. The game handles well, I enjoyed it very much.

If you haven't downloaded this already, do it, just do it, you'll be in a happy tough nostalgic built heaven.

I will be getting Mega Man 10 however, before I play the game, I have already seen playthroughs on youtube and to me, it didn't seem all that impressive, the levels kinda looked like blah. The music feels like it's somewhat schizophrenic as in doesn't seem to know where it's going in the tracks (then again, they grabbed composers from previous series) yet they all have the same feel only Sheep Man and Wily Stage 1 (Abandoned Memory) caught my ear though oddly, the tracks remind me of Battletoads. The story, well, I hate it for the fact they tried to used this Robotenza (Influenza, I know, clever word play Capcom) deal make many fans think the Maverick virus was involved and we would get to see Zero in his early years.

I kinda guessed it had nothing to do with the Maverick virus before it came out because of the word play but everybody I talked to was so convinced that this was the earliest stage of it to come out in the Original MM Universe (WRONG!) when that happened in Mega Man 8 with the Dark Energy before my theory of Dr. Wily refining it and making it into the Maverick virus, which would make sense. Still, I am going to play it and tell ye my thoughts on it next time whenever that maybe, lol. Alright, that is my thoughts on that, hope you enjoyed.

Thursday, July 22, 2010

A New beginning and random stuff going on.

Originally, this blog was used for a school assignment back in university now I have altered it to my own needs.

Well, now that's out of the way, I have been playing Persona 3 Portable almost as much as I humanly can considering I have LPs to do and work at Wal Mart as a cartpusher.
This game is like a dream come true because it fixes everything from FES like having control of everything and making the social links much easier to do (like having only friends call on Sundays so this way none of them gets mad) and playing as the female MC is a nice touch and change and I prefer the Female MC's music in the game and the P4 references. If you love RPGs, play it, you will not be disappointed. Though my only complaint is it seems so easy now 0_0
Recently, though my DS Lite's L Button officially died so this means I need to get a new one again thank god for one year replacement plans. I probably have to blame my constant playing of Mega Man Zero Collection before my P3P fix. I am just afraid that the next model will do the same which makes me a sad panda.
I did get PS3 ages ago, and I have barely got a chance to touch it though I seem kinda disappointed with it. I have gotten quite a few games but I was massively disappointed with Bayonetta and DMC4 (they just seem wrong to me), it's kinda sad the game I spent the most time with is Sonic The Hedgehog 06 and that was kinda fun in a masochistic sense. Then again, the other thing I had fun was Virtua Fighter 5 which was fun and cheap. Though I am considering downloading some games like Mega Man 9 and 10 and Final Fantasy VII (since my original copy is with a friend of mine in a case of Final Fantasy VIII ironically).

When it comes to my youtube stuff, I have been in a rush to finish up all the projects like Rockman and Forte and Gundam Battle Assault 2 so I can move on to much more fun stuff. I have been lazy with my co-commentated stuff due to that. I admit it's my fault for having so many projects but there is SO much I want to do. I was considering doing a vlog but I just can't do it like spoonyone. I wanted to do an abridged series but getting a cast and getting the stuff for it is a task in itself. I considered doing reviews and even imitation reviews, but with my huge list of videos I need to make, ugh. Though one thing I want to do is a have union with everyone of the cast of ArcadiaComms and friends of such but that one's even farther in the horizon.

Though personal life-wise, I am doing okay, getting ready to go to college and all that. Though work has been the pits considering that I am working with someone I have known since grade school and it's not of a person I like. I wouldn't mind if he was doing a good job, but the fact he redefines fail to whole new level does not HELP. Okay, me and another cartpusher got done with grocery section and we then had to take care of general merchantise so we leave him over in grocery and somehow he fails to catch up and get the leftovers (note: this is Sunday, our non-busy day). This guy has no common sense considering he went straight to the cart machine when we were doing perfectly fine and we have shown the floor management he is completely unreliable and about as useful as salt at a slug farm and the fact even with the cart machine he doesn't know what he is doing and he does it so slow too.
Though yesterday, I went to Missoula to go see the university and it would have been better if my brother hadn't made it seem like military operation when really it was just a stroll through the neighborhood, it really didn't help of how he kept exasperating while I was considering some stuff to buy and kept panicking over the little shit and how he kept begging of things. It got really bad when I let him drive my car and he treated it like shit with his reckless driving saying that the guys of Top Gear drive like this. I think I should have just kept driving despite the enormous cramp in my right leg. I was tired as hell by the end of it. Though I got myself the whole series of Magical Shopping Arcade Abenobashi, a necklace of the Nobody symbol from KH2, and a KH2 T-shirt and I got my brother Xena: Warrior Princess Season 1 just to get him stop bugging me. You could be surprised how much people want when you have the money on you.
Overall, despite that, I am considering some other things like getting a Wii and more anime series like Serial Experiment Lain and getting everything ready for me going back to university and hopefully not failing again.