Well, I tried to come into this game with a positive outlook, I tried, I tried so frelling hard but this game hit alot of wrong notes for me. I just felt it was wrong. Well, the game seems more difficult due to the crappy special weapons. The stages seemed to be designed for easy mode first then Capcom just took out the stuff for it when really they should of made a whole new stage design set up for this so it could be more normal instead of this lazy rom hack bullcrap. The controls seem slightly offish in this one unlike 9, because it seems like more than a few times the jump was off and I got killed numerous times due to this slight error. Speaking of which, this game seems to rely more on pixel perfect jumps than 9 did and really annoying is when they put those explosive parachute enemies across these jumps and some of it's more annoying gimmicks.
This game does try to be just as nostalgic as 9 and it tries but I feel really this game just ends up living in 9's shadow due to the lame robot masters, the theme of the game, and the appeal for newer fans to get into this. The music as I said feels like it has multiple personality syndrome due to all the MM composers they shoved in here though there were a few stand out themes here and there but they seemed to all have the same feel oddly of melancholy. This is like comparing the Zordon Era of Power Rangers to say Lost Galaxy, where they all had music themes that represented the story changes. 9 is like we are classic and higher than you can imagine while 10 is like we are just there. I really feel they were trying to I guess show maybe a turn in the series while not showing any hint of doing so considering they half assed the ending to show no indication of connection it to the seriousness of the X series. This game just gives alot of mixed feelings and it doesn't go anywhere with them which is a shame really.
I feel this is a good game, but do I like it, hell no. It hit too many wrong buttons with me and made me hit my head against the floor just because how stupid hard the levels got and how hard the Robot Masters were artificially since most of the weapons didn't seem well tested. However, oddly I didn't mind the Wily Stages so much, because they seemed natural for their difficulty and decently thought out. Though I ask Capcom one of two things, either put much more effort and balance the game with Mega Man 11 (and bridge gap between Original and X please) or work on a Mega Man X9 in 16 Bit Style? I would prefer the latter to be honest. If you ask me, just get 9 and if you like it, get this, it may appeal you, it may not, but really it's in the end of the beholder really.
1 comment:
Personally I find Mega Man 9 to be a lot harder and merciless than Mega Man 10. Mega Man 10 takes some getting used to but overall I find it easier than the one before it. But that's just me.
Post a Comment