Well, I like some heard many great things from people on this film and I thought I would share my thoughts on it since this is more than just for games (note: I will be talking about the game too).
I have been reading the manga (it has a similar style and uses a similar book type format thingy). Well, I thought the acting was pretty good considering though for me the actor that didn't quite sell it was Ramona (though she did make up for this a few times), I felt her expressions were kinda awkward and she seem to keep the same doe eyed expression most of the time.
Though I got to admit out of the evil exs I liked acting wise, I had to give credit to the actors for the roles of Matt (for being over the top, MR. PILGRIM!, serious if they have a Phoenix Wright movie, I want him in it, lol), LUCAS, and Todd (he was a super saiyan except Vegan). Lucas for some reason kept making me think of Hugh Jackman, lol, (HUGH JACKMAN AWAY!). While most people attack Michael Ceras performance of Scott Pilgrim's character, I found it was pretty dead on considering that he is fairly tough character to do.
Gideon despite being a villain, he seemed rather downplayed considering he was behind everything though for some reason I kept thinking of Aizen from Bleach being the same way which was actually effective. He did everything from setting Scott and Ramona up, sending the exs, making him split with Ramona and some way Knives, making his band sell out, and making him fight himself in more ways than one in order to destroy Scott's life and soul. Though his second life performance was more strong and showed the possessive evil manipulative bastard we wanted him to be so hey, even he needed the second life, lol.
Though I felt the story was slightly rushed however, we got to remember they had to condense this to a 2 hour movie and some developments of the characters were rushed understandably changed like Lucas being a giant asshole where in the comic/manga, he's alittle more upfront and down to earth and when he chucks Scott, he actually offers him a little break before they fight again. However, I think they changed it so it would be more climatic and keep the action though I wonder why they mirrored the stunt double fight scene when Scott fought G's goons. I felt the fights were alittle too fast for me but at the same time were very interesting as each one ended with more than just Scott curbstomping each ex.
Though the camera work while fast at the time was effective and mirrored the comic well and I liked the presentation overall. However, another thing that may sell you is the music and sound usage, like having Neil playing a game that perfectly fit what was going on every time Scott and the band had a meeting and having a remix of the mysterious sounding theme when going into a fairy cave in Zelda at Scott meeting Ramona through the hallway of lockers. I enjoyed the music alot and the funny narration that took place.
The visual effects were pretty amazing I do say and how they implemented a comic book onomatopoeia sound effects and used simple text and basic transitions that some comic books did well. Though I felt they were fastly implemented and sometimes hard to catch up with when they were moving on to the next scene. Though if you read the comic, it's fairly similar to what it does it.
Overall, despite some nitpicking, I say it's a good film overall though not as awesome as some claim it to be or how terrible it is. I liked the presentation (a few rough spots), the acting (a few rough spots), the music and sound were awesome. Overall, I say it's a watch especially if you are a gamer. I will not go over the comic till I finished with it (I only have two volumes, I'll get the rest in time). The game, same deal there since I have not finished it yet, but I will add it too this blog as well though I have enjoyed it quite abit as you'll see.
Now to the game... The game follows a mixture of various classic beat him ups from days of old and is it executed well? Yes, without a doubt despite the fact, there is no online co-op (seriously, Ubi Soft make a patch and we will be quite happy, you did it with Re: Shelled you can do it with this too and hell we will shell a few dollars to do it). Everything is a reference to something to how Scott leaves a level to the very end of the game and you can't help but grin. This game is pretty much what happens when a bunch of gamers get together and take notes from their favorite games and wonder what game they can make from it, rumor is this is how the game was created.
The music even does this very well, in fact, the music is very freaking good as a result. The gameplay is very solid with maybe the only problem being grinding for cash to boost your stats to max because if you don't boost stats, you won't make it past Level 3 (trust me I tried). The difficulty, really isn't much to say, it starts out hard at first (in fact it is), but as you boost stats to max, the game become just a hair weaker than average difficulty. Really, it then just comes down to crowd control which with the right moves becomes just second nature.
For some people the presentation maybe out of place for them but note this was made intentionally that way to appeal more to this generation of gamers who lived in those days. It seems as if alot of love was put into it and it shows. Overall, this is a must buy for any gamer who started games from that generation and those who haven't, buy it anyway, you'll thank me later.
No comments:
Post a Comment